Welcome to the official website of the author Kate Ellis

Welcome to the official website of Kate Ellis

Kate Ellis is the author of two exciting series of crime novels, two historical novels and many short stories.

Kate Ellis is an award winning author of two thrilling crime series and has sold over three-quarters of a million books worldwide. She has also written three historical crime novels and many short stories.

Her books in the Wesley Peterson series, containing an intriguing blend of mystery and history, include:

The Merchant's HouseThe Armada BoyAn Unhallowed GraveThe Funeral BoatThe Bone Garden, A Painted DoomThe Skeleton Room, The Plague Maiden, A Cursed Inheritance, The Marriage Hearse, The Shining Skull, The Blood PitA Perfect Death, The Flesh Tailor, The Jackal Man, The Cadaver GameThe Shadow CollectorThe Shroud MakerThe Death SeasonThe House of Eyes , The Meover rmaid's ScreamThe Mechanical Devil & Dead Man's Lane

Also available are five books in her spooky and mysterious series set in the ancient city of Eborby in North Yorshire and featuring DI Joe Plantagenet: SEEKING THE DEAD, PLAYING WITH BONESKISSING THE DEMONSWATCHING THE GHOSTS & WALKING BY NIGHT

Kate has also written the first two novels in a powerful and stunning new historical trilogy set in the aftermath of the First World War. A HIGH MORTALITY OF DOVES  and THE BOY WHO LIVED WITH THE DEAD are now out in paperback and ebook.

Quick News

Dead Man's Lane is currently available for 99p in the Amazon Kindle store

Kate is delighted that she was the winner of the CWA Dagger in the Library award 2019

Kate's historical crime novel The Devil's Priest is available to download from the Amazon Kindle Store for 99p ($0.99 US)

Kate's collection of 10 short stories Dark and Merciless Things is available to download from the Amazon Kindle Store for £1.99 ($2.99 US)

Kate's short story, THE MOLE CATCHER'S DAUGHTER is featured in MOTIVES FOR MURDER - A Detection Club anthology, published to celebrate the 80th birthday of Peter Lovesey.

Kate's short story, THE NAKED LADY OF PRAGUE is featured in The Crime Writer's Association Anthology MYSTERY TOUR



Out Now in Paperback & e-book

dead mans lane

Some murders are never forgotten... Strangefields Farm is notorious for its sinister history ever since serial killer Jackson Temples lured young women to the premises, and the girls never left alive.

Now, decades later, Strangefields is being transformed into a holiday village, but the developer's hopes of its dark past being forgotten are ruined when a skull is found on the site.

Police suspect it belongs to one of Temples' victims and, when a local florist is found murdered in an echo of Temples' crimes, DI Wesley Peterson fears a copy-cat killer could be at large. Especially when another brutal murder is discovered in a nearby village.

A killer on the loose isn't the only problem Wesley is facing: his childhood sweetheart, Grace Compton, has turned up in Tradmouth and she wants his help. Grace, an architect for the Strangefields development, has seen someone from her past who she wants Wesley to investigate; a man she thought was dead.

As archaeologist Dr Neil Watson begins to uncover the grisly secrets buried at Strangefields, it seems that an ancient tale of the dead returning to torment the living might not be as fantastical as it seems. And Wesley must work fast to prevent more murders, before someone close to him is put in danger...