Welcome to the official website of the author Kate Ellis

Welcome to the official website of Kate Ellis

Kate Ellis is the author of two exciting series of crime novels, two historical novels and many short stories.

Just when we thought things were getting better, the Covid crisis has worsened again. I was really looking forward to resuming normal life (and even meeting readers at libraries and festivals again) but now it seems those hopes have been dashed.

In early September, when things looked as though they were improving, we managed to get to Devon. We’d booked to go there back in January when the events of 2020 couldn’t possibly have been predicted and I consider myself lucky to have got there at all. It was lovely to be back in South Devon and, even though three planned library events had to be cancelled, I managed to do a lot of walking and research. I also walked the five miles from Kingswear (over the river from Dartmouth) to Agatha Christie’s home at Greenway and I even managed to visit some lovely independent bookshops in Dartmouth, Totnes and Kingswear to sign some stock.

KateGreenway2020

 

The rest of the time I’ve been busy working on Wesley’s next case. My publisher wanted to change the title from The Butterfly Cage to THE STONE CHAMBER and I agreed. My editor loved it and I’ve now finished the changes she suggested. It will be published next August.

The big news is that the paperback of THE BURIAL CIRCLE is out on Thursday 15th October and should be available in all good bookshops or on Amazon

the burial circle

There’s also good news for fans of A HIGH MORTALITY OF DOVES and THE BOY WHO LIVED WITH THE DEAD. Albert Lincoln returns for the third and final instalment of the trilogy – THE HOUSE OF THE HANGED WOMAN – which will be published in hardback in late November (just in time for Christmas). THE HOUSE OF THE HANGED WOMAN sees Albert returning up North to investigate the disappearance of a Member of Parliament. Does the unidentified corpse found near an ancient stone circle belong to the missing man? And could the brutal murder of a clerk from a nearby mill be connected to other sinister events? There’s also the question many people will have been asking after reading the first two books - will Albert ever find happiness? You’ll have to wait until November to find out.

Last week I was delighted to be interviewed on Liverpool 247 Radio by Pauline Daniels and Chris High. If you’d like to listen to the interview just click here.